IMG_20190723_104544_675_edited_edited.jpg

Welcome to my website.

 

I'm Karen Clarke, a multi-published author of romantic comedies and - after a recent switch to the dark side - psychological thrillers.

'all the beauty of life

is made up of light and shadows'  Leo Tolstoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
ibooks.jpg
'It had me gripped from the start and would not let go' 
 
'An addictive and chilling read with a very dramatic ending. It had everything I love in a thriller and more.'

Your Life for Mine

 

Meet Beth Turner...

 

From the outside she looks like any other thirty-three-year-old woman, with a gorgeous house and beautiful daughter.

 

But Beth has a secret that has haunted her past for as long as she can remember. A secret that only those closest to her know. Aged seven, she almost drowned on a family holiday… and a stranger died saving her life. Survivors guilt has been the defining characteristic of her life ever since.

 

So, when Beth receives a threatening text message from an anonymous number on the way to her surprise birthday party, she knows her time is up.

 

Enjoy your birthday, Beth. It’ll be your last.

 

As she arrives at her house, there’s only one thing she knows for certain. Someone at the party wants her dead.

Your Life For Mine1.jpg
stars.png
stars.png
ibooks.jpg
'A satisfyingly chilling read with an explosive ending.'
Vikki Patis - bestselling author of 'Girl Lost'
stars.png
There’s no shortage of suspects in this gripping new thriller.”  Diane Jeffrey - bestselling author of 'The Guilty Mother'
stars.png

The Perfect Nanny

You trust her with your home, your husband, your baby… but she is about to destroy it all.

 

Sophy Pemberton is struggling to cope with the pressures of becoming a new mother. Her nine-month-old son never settles in her arms and the unrelenting tiredness from late night feeds is all consuming.

 

When Liv Granger from the mother and baby group offers her services as a nanny, Sophy is overcome with relief. Now she can finally get some sleep…she can stop failing at being a mother.

 

But Liv has a secret. She didn’t become Sophy’s nanny by accident.

 

And Sophy has no idea who she has let into her home.

 

An utterly gripping and suspenseful novel that will have you turning the pages long into the night for fans of The Mother-In-Law, Lies Lies Lies, and The Babysitter.

ibooks.jpg

The Secret Sister

 

Can you trust a sister who is a stranger?

 

Ella Matthews has it all. A beautiful house, a charming husband and a precious baby daughter – her life has pretty much turned out exactly as she planned.

 

But when Ella’s mother tragically dies, her perfect life starts to crack. Her mother had been harbouring a life-long secret. Ella has a sister – an older sister – called Colleen.

 

Excited by the thought of no longer being an only child, Ella can’t wait to find her. But Colleen has a whirlwind past of her own. Desperate to escape her troubles, she is ready to go to any length to start afresh.

 

As their paths collide, someone is keeping secrets… and when Colleen mysteriously disappears without notice, Ella can’t help but question if she should have started looking for her at all…

ibooks.jpg
22 The Perfect Nanny_concept-1.png

WOW! I absolutely loved this book and stayed up way too late to finish it!’ 

‘A wickedly clever page-turner.’ 

stars.png
stars.png
cover.jpg

'Intense, quick-paced, has well developed characters & a plot that’s full of twists. Once I started reading, I could not put it down!!’ 

stars.png
stars.png

And Then She Ran

 

How far would you go to keep your baby safe?

 

Grace bundled her eight-week-old daughter into her carry cot, opened the door and ran.

 

Her life in New York faded into the background – she needed to keep her baby safe. She needed to get as far away from Patrick as possible.

 

Now, staying in a remote cottage in Wales, Grace is trying to start again. But she can’t shake the uneasy feeling that she’s been followed.

 

And then she finds a note. Left on her bed. A tiny scrap of paper with scrawl in bright red pen. Keep her close. Anything could happen.

 

She’s been found. Patrick wants his baby back.

 

But Grace will do everything to stop him.

 

An utterly gripping cat and mouse thriller that will keep you reading long into the night for fans of Lisa Jewell, Adele Parks and Sally Hepworth.

And Then She Ran.PNG